10510304

Running Away From Running

It’s day 2 of my summer holiday and I am done with my important errands. I got my license renewed, finished tutorials, went shopping for my nephews and niece’s presents, and started packing. My days have had the right amount of busy in them, but something is missing. I still haven’t been running.

I told myself that this summer, I would focus on getting back into training, but the bed is on a winning streak. Since my last race in February, I’ve probably logged in no more than 30KMS. Gasp. I think my boyfriend senses the struggle as well, and has been subtly encouraging me to run. Either that or he thinks I’m getting fat. One of his birthday presents for me was Kara Goucher’s, Running For Women. Although this book is more apt for beginners, I have found myself completely immersed in it. Her running narratives and photos make me feel envious and I end up beating myself up for stopping. Runners know that it is easier to maintain your base fitness level than to have to start from zero, which is pretty much what I’m going to have to do.

I ran long enough to experience all the sport’s benefits. It kept me fit, happy, level-headed , and the endorphin highs were exhilarating. I also ran long enough that it has become part of who I am and not doing it has made me feel incomplete. Not doing it has obviously also made me cheesy. Sometimes when I’m extremely stressed, I go out for a quick run and I am reminded of why I fell in love with the sport in the first place. I need to constantly remind myself of what running has done for me and perhaps that will motivate me to get back on the road sooner than later, I hope.

One thought on “Running Away From Running

Drop me a line...

