IMG_3703

The Quickest Lasagna You’ll Ever Make

Making lasagna is all about layering. All you need are the staple ingredients, your preferred add ons and you’re ready to go! I happened to have some left over bolognese sauce which was enough for a small tray of lasagna. I didn’t want to spend so much time in the kitchen so instead of making a bechamel sauce from scratch, I made a quick cream sauce that turned out to be just as good. All I did was add a some lemon juice, grated cheddar cheese, herbs, salt and pepper to the cream and that was it! This probably cut my cooking time in half so I may never make a bechamel sauce again.

Turns out that I didn’t have enough bolognese sauce to make three layers so instead, I used a beefsteak tomato and some basil for one of the layers. This added a fresh taste to the lasagna, also cutting the richness of the cream sauce. I also suggest experimenting with other vegetables like eggplant and squash.

This dish was done in no time. I served it with a watercress salad (to compensate for the cream sauce) with a basil and green pepper pesto, which I also served on top of a toasted baguette.  It was an amazing meal!

The lasagna was pretty basic so I’m sharing the pesto recipe instead. The flavors in this sauce complemented the lasagna so well and is definitely worth sharing.

Basil and Green Pepper Pesto

  • 2 cups of fresh basil
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • salt and pepper

Blend all ingredients in a food processor and use as a salad dressing or serve on top of toasted baguette. 

Delish!

2 thoughts on “The Quickest Lasagna You’ll Ever Make

Drop me a line...

