IMG_4115

Green Fish Curry With Squash

I think I’ve reached my day’s quota of work. Even after nine hours of sleep last night, I feel exhausted and spent from all the classes that I’ve taught and from writing student narratives. My mind is struggling to get through the last few hours of work so I’m calling for a mandatory blog break.

So here’s a dish that I made last night – green fish curry with squash. Eaten hot from a bowl, while comfortably situated on a couch, it goes well with a quiet drizzle and a mindless TV program.

I used store bought dory, which has a flavor that I’m not too fond of, but a texture that I like. I love how the green curry masked the fish’s flavor and how the cooked squash made the coconut milk even creamier. Combined with the freshness from the basil, it was the perfect comfort food.

Green Fish Curry with Squash

  • 2 dory fillets, cubed about an inch small
  • ¾ cup coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp. green curry paste
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 large bell pepper, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 cup fresh basil
  • 1 ½ cups squash, sliced
  • ½ cup water

In a hot pan, add one tablespoon of oil and sauté onions and garlic for about two minutes. Add the sliced squash and cover with coconut milk, green curry paste and ½ cup of water. Simmer on low heat for 10-15 minutes or until the squash is cooked through. Add the green bell peppers and the dory. Stir lightly so the fish will cook evenly. Simmer for two more minutes and turn the heat off. Add the basil leaves and season according to taste. Serve with hot rice.

3 thoughts on “Green Fish Curry With Squash

  1. it looks delicious…and hmmm i think i can cook this dish same just the same with lapu-lapu (fish) sweet and sour i cooked the other day–it was my first time though..not really a cooking enthusiast but im trying…

    this one’s next weeee

Drop me a line...

