cakendar

Can I Train For A 10k In A Week?

They say self doubt is your worst enemy, but for someone who hasn’t been running, I’d say that I was just being realistic.

I’ve been thinking of joining a race since the last one I signed up for got postponed. Today, an opportunity presented itself as a colleague asked me if I wanted to sign up for a race that her son was organizing. It’s seems like a small event, which is  perfect for a “comeback” race. Except, it happens in a week and the last time I got a decent run in was in October. So can I do it? If my friend Bic were here beside me she’d say, “Mai, of course you can! I’m just not sure how you’ll feel after the race.” I’d like to think that I’m (relatively) good shape as I have been working out regularly, I just haven’t been running. But you know what they say, you’re only as good as your last run (which was a 5k). Gulp

So here’s my proposed training program for the next week. Carla, if you’re reading this, let me know if you want to reconsider…

  • Saturday ( Dec 3 ) –  5k
  • Tuesday ( Dec 6 )  – 6k
  • Thursday (Dec 8 ) – 7.5k
  • Saturday ( Dec 10 ) – 10k  RACE DAY
     

 

I really miss running at the Fort, so I might do it even just for that. I obviously don’t care about a new PR, but I do want to finish without walking.

Runners, what do you think? Am I being ridiculous for even considering this?

2 thoughts on “Can I Train For A 10k In A Week?

  1. Ha! I’d be up for training with you, how’s that? But signing up? I *know* I can cross the finish, but I also know I’ll feel like crap afterwards, and I might even injure myself (I’m prone to those things…). But I can train for it, moral support and all (and also bc I too need to get myself back in shape!

Drop me a line...

