On Being Freshly Pressed

My purposes for starting this blog were purely self-indulgent. I just wanted a space for things that I love the most and at the same time, be forced to compose my thoughts better. I have always been aware of the fact that writing is not my strongest suit, so you can imagine my elation upon realizing that one of my posts was featured on Freshly Pressed. To say that this was a pleasant surprise is an understatement.

I was also ecstatic about the fact that I got to share my camping tales with so many people. My summer experience is certainly worth telling and I am content knowing that as of today,  it has reached about 2000 people. Isn’t the power of technology amazing?

So thanks, WordPressfor encouraging me to write some more and for allowing me to tell my stories. And thanks to everyone who dropped by and left a note. Reading all the comments was completely heart-warming and gratifying. 

I’d like to end this acceptance speech with a quote from the movie, Finding Forrester. This movie, along with the acknowledgement from WordPress, made me realize that sometimes, sincerity is clearest form of writing.

“No thinking – that comes later. You must write your first draft with your heart. You rewrite with your head. The first key to writing is… to write, not to think! “

8 thoughts on “On Being Freshly Pressed

Drop me a line...

