When It Rains, It Pours

September 27, 2011. It’s Tuesday, 11:15 am. The wind is howling and the windows are rattling. Typhoon Pedring (Nesat) was located somewhere in Eastern Luzon and made landfall at 4:00 am this morning. It has not stopped raining since last night and there is water everywhere in Metro Manila and other parts of Luzon.

Typhoon Pedring (Nesat) hitting the Philippines

What is it about this time of the year? On Sept. 28, 2007, Manila was hit by a  deadly typhoon called Milenyo (Xangsane). Two years later, on Sept. 26, we took an even more devastating hit from typhoon Ondoy (Ketsana), who dumped an enormous amount of water on us in a very short span of time. I’m no meteorologist but I think I see a trend here.

the empty streets of Makati

To make this day even more memorable, today also marks my Dad’s third death anniversary. Mom, as usual, invited all of us to have dinner at her home and all I could think of was, “I’d much rather forget this day, you know?” I guess that’s just part of the coping mechanism. Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it), this awful weather has left me stranded at home. Watching the streets ten stories below me, I’d be crazy to even consider leaving our building. So I am now left with the guilt of not celebrating the day my father died with my family.

view from our apartment

So it is safe to say that I really don’t like today. It is literally and figuratively a dark and dreary day for me and I just want the sun to shine already.

The Rainy Day 

by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

The day is cold, and dark, and dreary;
It rains, and the wind is never weary;
The vine still clings to the moldering wall,
But at every gust the dead leaves fall,
And the day is dark and dreary.
My life is cold, and dark, and dreary;
It rains, and the wind is never weary;
My thoughts still cling to the moldering Past,
But the hopes of youth fall thick in the blast
And the days are dark and dreary.
Be still, sad heart and cease repining;
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining;
Thy fate is the common fate of all,
Into each life some rain must fall,
Some days must be dark and dreary.
Drop me a line...

