Remembering My First Apple

It was the year 2002. I was visiting family in California and I remember feeling excited about seeing a revolutionary gadget in person for the first time. It was probably how people felt when the first colored TV was released. I had heard so much about this new gadget and as a young and musically-inclined girl, it was a “must have.” I hardly had any spending money but my  Dad gave me a “special fund” of $300, which I pleaded for prior to leaving. I needed $399 so it was up to me to come up with the rest of the money. A small price to pay in exchange for 1,000 portable songs, I thought.

People all over the blogosphere, mourning Steve Jobs' death.

But one day, while walking around Target, I had no idea that my dreams would come true. Right there, on the electronics counter, I saw a sign that read: SALE! I ran fast; my heart pounding and my eyes rapidly blinking in disbelief. The 5G iPod was on sale for $299! Without any hesitation, I asked for the big white box and paid for what would be my first Apple purchase. I said goodbye to skipping discs; said hello to the wonderful world of downlading music and never looked back.  I regret that I wasn’t more careful about keeping my first iPod and I would give anything to have it now.

The first iPod introduced me to Steve Jobs and since then, has symbolized form and function at it’s best. He has also made working at the desk more pleasurable and probably, for some, a lot more bearable.

So thank you, Steve Jobs for sharing your genius with us. Mac users all over the world are grieving and mourning the loss of a great one.

Drop me a line...

