Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

Isn’t she a beauty? I brought her all the way from the States – all eleven pounds of her. I even had to hold back on shopping in order to stay within my baggage weight allowance, but for cooking aficionados like me, cooking tools trump clothes.

I can’t wait to host parties with this one. With our new and more spacious home, this 3-quart pot might be slightly overused. Today, I broke my new pot in by making my usual chicken stock. It’s been raining relentlessly her in Manila and damp weather means it’s time for a big bowl of soup.

Asian Chicken Stock Recipe

  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1 stalk spring onion, chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • one pice of ginger, skinned and sliced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 kaffir lime leaf
  • 1/2 kilo store bought chicken carcass ( you can also buy chicken wings, legs or even the neck)
  • salt and freshly ground pepper

In a large pot, cover all the ingredients and simmer for at least 1 hour. I know, that sounds too short but I’m too impatient. You can go for the complete 4 hours if you can wait. Strain to remove solids and use or keep in the freezer.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

    • I really wanted the Le Creuset pot but it was much more expensive. I ended up with just a mortar and pestle :p Then the guy at the store recommended the Lodge one and so far, so great!

Drop me a line...

