Kefir 101

What is kefir? Kefir is similar to yogurt and contains probiotics that will greatly benefit the body. According to most articles that I’ve read, it contains Vitamins A, B and D and minerals such as calcium, iron, and iodine.

I first learned about kefir through our local weekend market. They had been selling this for quite a while now but I never bothered to ask about it. Recently, I’ve been more conscious about eating better and trying to get as much nutrients into our regular diet. So I finally decided to give kefir a try. Much to my surprise, this superfood isn’t that expensive. A 300ml bottle costs P150 (around 3-4$), and one bottle can be stored for a month. The vendor suggested that I take it with honey because it tastes very sour. I experimented with it this weekend and made a dressing with it. As suggested, I combined it with some honey, olive oil, garlic, some Japanese mayo (so much for being healthy), basil and parsley. I made the mistake of adding too much kefir to my dressing, which made it very watery. No one likes a watery salad, so I decided to use it on my blanched asparagus. The result was a winner! The tartness from the kefir, the garlic and the parsley coated the asparagus nicely and it was such a refreshing veggie dish. I suggest preparing this ahead of time so you can serve it cold.

This is my new addiction.

ASPARAGUS SALAD

1 bundle asparagus

1/8 cup kefir

1/8 cup olive oil

2 tbsp. mayonnaise

3 cloves of garlic, crushed

5 basil leaves, chopped

1/4 cup parsley, chopped

salt and pepper to taste

Combine kefir, olive oil, mayonnaise, garlic, herbs, salt and pepper in a jar and shake vigorously. Set aside.

Blanch the asparagus for one minute, or until it turns a vibrant shade of green. Remove from the boiling water and shock in cold water to stop cooking. Put the asparagus in a platter and coat it with the dressing. Chill in the fridge until you are ready to serve it. 

Drop me a line...

