My Fake Chicken Laksa Recipe

I’ve actually never had Malaysian, Singaporean, or Thai laksa. All I know is that I wanted a bowl of curry soup, so I searched the internet, which led me to laksa. I read a few recipes, picked out the ingredients that I knew would go well together, and made a hearty bowl of comfort food. It ended up resembling Thai laksa more than the others, and someone from my Facebook friends list even mentioned that there was something “amiss” about my dish. Whether or not this dish is authentic, it’s still pretty delicious and I would make you all a bowl if I could.

One disclaimer though –  when I made this, I eyeballed everything. I usually measure with my eyes and my tastebuds, so I suggest that you do the same with yours. The measurements indicated here are estimates of what I put yesterday. Just remember that you don’t want your broth to be too watery. You want it to have a slightly creamy consistency, ok? Ok! Oh, and don’t be intimidated by the list of ingredients. I know it’s a lot, but gathering the ingredients is the hardest part about this recipe.

I wish I had a better photo, but I was more excited to eat than to document it. 

MY “FAKE” CHICKEN CURRY LAKSA RECIPE

1 tbsp coriander seeds
1 tbsp fennel seeds
1tbsp black peppercorns
2 tbsp turmeric powder
2 tbsp fresh ginger, minced
2 tbsp lemongrass powder (if you have real lemongrass, you can do without this)
1 tsp cumin powder
1 tbsp dried chili flakes
1 tbsp shrimp paste (bagoong)
2 cloves of garlic, crushed
1 medium onion, minced
1 stalk lemongrass, minced
100 ml coconut milk (you can add more if you want it richer)
1 can chicken stock, or 1 chicken bouillon dissolved in 2 cups of water
4 chicken breasts, cubed
juice of 1 lime
2 leeks
2 kefir lime leaves *optional
fresh coriander
fresh mint
rice noodles

 

1.  Grind coriander, fennel seeds, chili flakes, and black pepper. Combine with turmeric and lemongrass powder.

2.  Soak rice noodles according to packaging directions. Set aside.

3.  Heat oil in a large pot. Add shrimp paste, onions, garlic, spice mix, ginger and fresh lemongrass. Saute’ for 2 minutes. Add chicken breasts and saute’ until cooked. Add coconut milk and chicken broth. Simmer on low heat for 10 minutes. Season to taste.

4.  In your serving bowl, add noodles. Squeeze half a lime on noodles for each serving. This allows the noodles to soak up the lime juice. Pour hot laksa broth over noodles and garnish with fresh mint and coriander.

5.  Serve immediately and enjoy with a loved one.

 
*FOR THE INSPIRATIONS FOR THIS RECIPE, READ THIS AND THIS
Drop me a line...

