From Mattancherry to Fort Kochi

This kilometer-long walk has become one of my favorite memories from our India trip. I regret that we only spent two days around that area, as it probably deserved a four day visit. From the bright smiles; the intricate wall art; the quaint little shops, to the pungent and distinct scents from spice street – I became enamored with this place a little too late.

spice box

When traveling and you find something that you really like, buy it. I loved these spice boxes but thought I’d find them everywhere in Southern India. I was wrong. I never saw them again after leaving Kochi.

P1020268

Fort Kochi is the spice district of Southern India. 

P1020269

I was curious about the dried berries that this man was sorting, so I asked if I could have a taste. They looked like blue berries, but tasted like a less sweeter version of raisins. 

P1020270

I watched in excitement as these men unloaded sacks of onions, potatoes, and spices. I was dying to buy everything. 

sari

A beautifully colored sari.

P1020277

One of the things I loved most about this area were the wall art. 

P1020280

I wanted to spend my afternoon painting with this lady. 

P1020281

Beautiful.

P1020282

12.12.12

P1020288

Portraits by a man named Daniel Connell. Find out more about his work here.

P1020303

Love by the Indian Ocean.

Drop me a line...

