Mood Hack: Boracay’s Real Coffee Calamansi Muffins

Forget that I haven’t blogged in ages, there are more important matters to dwell on.

A depressing amount of rain has been dumped on the Northern part of the Philippines. Yesterday’s news declared 339 mm. (13.34 inches) worth of rainfall in a span of 48 hours.  Incredible. With our city’s ineffective ( or should I say, non-existent) drainage system, a lot of people have been rendered homeless, or swimming amongst  a sea of rubble and furniture. Depressing, indeed. And to make matters worse, we are on day 3 and the rain is still falling, and the winds seem to be picking up.

I can’t complain about cabin fever. I am extremely fortunate to have food and shelter.  I’ve just been making the most out of being cooped up for last three days by doing the following: 1) Packing clothes for relief operations. 2) Working. 3) Baking and cooking. The silver lining in all of this is that I discovered a recipe that I now love – Real Coffee’s Calamansi Muffins! Although I’ve never actually tried the original muffins from Boracay, I have heard many good things about these early morning treats. So, I braved the wet streets, walked to the neighborhood supermarket in my bumblebee rain boots, and purchased the necessary ingredients.

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 pcs eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup calamansi

I followed the recipe from this blogger, who I think came out with the best looking results for the attempted Food Hack. The result was a deliciously tart and buttery muffin. It was a little dense and somewhat dry, in a good way – perfect with a cup of black coffee. I also tried having it with a little bit of jam and it was nice.

The dense cake doesn’t really bother me, but I can see how some people (aka, my boyfriend) might not enjoy how the cake gets stuck to the roof of the mouth. Next time I make this recipe again, I might try adding 1/4 cup of boiling water to add a little bit of moisture to the cake. I will let you know how that goes.

For now, let’s hope that this attempted Mood Hack brings some of our famed sunshine back into our lives. This rain is getting old.

calamansi muffins

Drop me a line...

